top of page

Community Connect

Learn more about what is happening in Prince George's County and around Maryland


Prince George’s County Council Member Derrick Leon Davis, who has represented District 6 residents on the Council since winning a Special Election in 2011, has resigned his Council seat, effective Friday, April 15, 2022.  Council Member Davis was elected in November 2014 to serve his first four-year term of office as the Council Member for District 6 and was re-elected to serve a second four-year term in the November 2018 General Election.  His current term was set to expire on December 5, 2022.

On Thursday, April 7, 2022, Council Member Davis submitted the following statement upon his resignation.


From the Desk of Prince George’s County Council Member Derrick Leon Davis PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY COUNCIL, DISTRICT 6




As Prince Georgians, we share a destiny and a purpose. Together, we have accomplished so much (far too much to chronicle here)! And we have weathered many, many storms! I cannot thank all of you enough for allowing me the latitude to do 'Big Things on Purpose,' for Prince Georgians, and for the opportunity to shine the light of Prince George's promise on the region.

Remaining in the spirit of Gratitude, I thank God for my Wife and Best Friend, Sherry, who taught me the critical lesson of obedience. Your support has meant everything. Scripture says, "He who finds a wife, finds a good thing."

To my District 6 Team - Nell Johnson; Rita Lassiter; and Lenne White - You are the BEST in the business! Thank you for using your remarkable talents and skills to serve our residents.

I pray that I have served well. It is my prayer that I have done so to His Glory, as I have given my best daily.

This experience has truly been an honor and a blessing.

 Now, the time has come for me to rest, restore, and prepare for the next leg of this journey; therefore, I am resigning my seat on the Prince George's County Council, effective Close of Business, Friday, April 15, 2022.   May God continue to bless us all with His Grace and Mercy.  Thank you.

Contact info for our County, State and Federal Representatives:


· Dannielle Glaros, County Council Member, Prince George’s County District 3,
Office: 301-952-3060


Twitter: @GlarosCouncil3

- Malcolm Augustine, State Senator


· Julian Ivey, House of Delegates,


- Wanika B. Fisher, Delegate 


· Diana Fennell, House of Delegate, 301-858-3478 or


Twitter: @DianaMFennell

District 47 Holiday Toy Drive & Social!

bottom of page